Use of inductive dryer motors in a test bed

General Discussion about electric vehicles.
kirklazarus   1 µW

1 µW

Use of inductive dryer motors in a test bed

Post by kirklazarus » Feb 02 2015 12:02pm

Hey guys,

First time poster long time reader. I'm interested in building electric cars, but I'd like to design a smaller test bed to try to solve some problems related to powering an controlling a dual motor setup and things like voltage regulation across cells etc etc. It also lets me start exploring the concepts in the limited space I have

I'd be running a very small number of batteries.

Using an inductive motor fit for a car might be overkill cost and power wise. I was thinking of using the inductive motor from a dryer in the test bed that I want to make. Has anyone tried this? I'm going to limit the power into the motors as I just need them spinning I don't need them going full bore.

Any thoughts would be appreciatd.

This is my first attempt at DIY EV stuff so I apologize if I've revealed my ignorance so quickly..I was hoping to dole it out in small installments.

-KL

e-beach   1 GW

1 GW
Location: Any Los Angeles area beach I am at. Or Santa Monica or possibly the south bay beaches.

Re: Use of inductive dryer motors in a test bed

Post by e-beach » Feb 02 2015 9:41pm

Hey kirklazarus!!!

First things first. Please follow this instruction to get you started.
Welcome to ES 1.jpg
Welcome to ES 1.jpg (67.42 KiB) Viewed 1482 times
OK, now that that is done, this is what I think.