Changing switch brake levers to magnetic hydraulic sensors

General Discussion about electric bicycles.
Post Reply
Ebikeotis   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 31
Joined: Apr 01 2020 6:26am

Changing switch brake levers to magnetic hydraulic sensors

Post by Ebikeotis » Apr 02 2020 2:46am

Hi guys. Working my way through conversation kit and the search function. The levers that came with the kit have switch sensors and I want to change the to the magnet sensors. Is it a case of wiring in the new cable and both would work in the same way?

User avatar
E-HP   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1217
Joined: Nov 01 2018 9:20pm

Re: Changing switch brake levers to magnetic hydraulic sensors

Post by E-HP » Apr 02 2020 12:01pm

Ebikeotis wrote:
Apr 02 2020 2:46am
Hi guys. Working my way through conversation kit and the search function. The levers that came with the kit have switch sensors and I want to change the to the magnet sensors. Is it a case of wiring in the new cable and both would work in the same way?
Most likely, but you'd need to post details on your controller to be sure. If both the old and new sensors are two wire, then it's pretty likely.

Ebikeotis   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 31
Joined: Apr 01 2020 6:26am

Re: Changing switch brake levers to magnetic hydraulic sensors

Post by Ebikeotis » Apr 02 2020 1:03pm

Awesome. When the bike is up and running I’ll do it then. Definitely need a safety cut off to stop.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 29824
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Changing switch brake levers to magnetic hydraulic sensors

Post by amberwolf » Apr 03 2020 4:20am

what specificaly do you mean by 'magnet" and "switch"?


generally there are two kinds of sensor on ebrake levers. one is mechanical, a two wire switch. the other is electronic, a three wire hall sensor that acts like a switch but requires 5v power to operate.

Ebikeotis   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 31
Joined: Apr 01 2020 6:26am

Re: Changing switch brake levers to magnetic hydraulic sensors

Post by Ebikeotis » Apr 03 2020 5:54am

This is the switch which came with my kit. Thing is I have hydraulic levers which I could modify the switch but it might look a bit bulky. Or I have seen the magnet sensor style which look better. If I wanted to can these be retrofitted?
Attachments
1CC53582-7B0D-45C7-ACBC-6103E27D0AD2.jpeg
1CC53582-7B0D-45C7-ACBC-6103E27D0AD2.jpeg (57.4 KiB) Viewed 109 times
5C316292-713B-4111-A7AA-0E7981BEC936.jpeg
5C316292-713B-4111-A7AA-0E7981BEC936.jpeg (44.93 KiB) Viewed 109 times
1C5F6D06-7286-4591-9B75-089F16083CEF.jpeg
1C5F6D06-7286-4591-9B75-089F16083CEF.jpeg (44.18 KiB) Viewed 109 times

User avatar
dogman dan   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 35582
Joined: May 17 2008 12:53pm
Location: Las Cruces New Mexico USA

Re: Changing switch brake levers to magnetic hydraulic sensors

Post by dogman dan » Apr 03 2020 6:20am

FWIW, we needed cut off switches on brake levers when bikes ran on brushed motors. Brushed controllers had a way of failing that resulted in full throttle to the motor.

Brushless, I suppose its possible to fail this way, but I never had it happen, nor heard of it. You could have a pair of wires to the throttle get cut, and short, resulting in a signal to full throttle the bike, but really,,, its not going to happen. Or a throttle could jam on in a crash I suppose. But again, about as rare as it happens on a motorcycle, which has a handlebar mounted kill switch.

So basically, you just need the same thing motorcycles have, mount that switch on a handlebar. Like motorcycle riders, you are able to not pull the throttle when you want to stop.

If you have PAS, then its another story, the kill switch will help you not activate motion when you fiddle with the pedals at a stop sign.

Ebikeotis   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 31
Joined: Apr 01 2020 6:26am

Re: Changing switch brake levers to magnetic hydraulic sensors

Post by Ebikeotis » Apr 03 2020 6:54am

dogman dan wrote:
Apr 03 2020 6:20am
FWIW, we needed cut off switches on brake levers when bikes ran on brushed motors. Brushed controllers had a way of failing that resulted in full throttle to the motor.

Brushless, I suppose its possible to fail this way, but I never had it happen, nor heard of it. You could have a pair of wires to the throttle get cut, and short, resulting in a signal to full throttle the bike, but really,,, its not going to happen. Or a throttle could jam on in a crash I suppose. But again, about as rare as it happens on a motorcycle, which has a handlebar mounted kill switch.

So basically, you just need the same thing motorcycles have, mount that switch on a handlebar. Like motorcycle riders, you are able to not pull the throttle when you want to stop.

If you have PAS, then its another story, the kill switch will help you not activate motion when you fiddle with the pedals at a stop sign.
I’ve been reading a lot about whether to use them or not. When took it out for a test ride using throttle was ok but with the pas it still carries on until it figures out you’ve stopped peddling. Just wanna be a safe as possible really

User avatar
dogman dan   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 35582
Joined: May 17 2008 12:53pm
Location: Las Cruces New Mexico USA

Re: Changing switch brake levers to magnetic hydraulic sensors

Post by dogman dan » Apr 04 2020 5:46am

One reason I loath cheap PAS. Temporarily, unplug the wires to the pas sensor.

Post Reply