Page 1 of 1

Rear Dropout Torque Sensor

Posted: Apr 01 2020 12:57am
by DubP
Hi guys,

I just picked up an old BH EasyMotion Neo City cheap. I discovered it has this sweet PAS sensor in the rear dropout. It seems like it's actually a torque sensor. Does anybody have any info about this sensor?

My apologies if this is exhaustively covered in another thread. I searched, but...
IMG_20200331_221213_compress1.jpg
Rear Dropout Torque Sensor?
IMG_20200331_221213_compress1.jpg (478.66 KiB) Viewed 206 times

Re: Rear Dropout Torque Sensor

Posted: Apr 01 2020 4:22am
by DogDipstick
Looks like a Sonders style Tq sensor? IDK thou I dont have a Sonders just have seen pics of them.

Re: Rear Dropout Torque Sensor

Posted: Apr 01 2020 5:08pm
by 999zip999
Some little thing that jumps around inside I don't know if it's ball bearings or some kind of shaped piece of metal but sometimes it sticks and you got to take a little mallet and tap it and that usually starts working again.

Re: Rear Dropout Torque Sensor

Posted: Apr 01 2020 5:24pm
by silence

Re: Rear Dropout Torque Sensor

Posted: Apr 01 2020 5:38pm
by amberwolf
999zip999 wrote:
Apr 01 2020 5:08pm
Some little thing that jumps around inside I don't know if it's ball bearings or some kind of shaped piece of metal but sometimes it sticks and you got to take a little mallet in tap it and that usually starts working again.
what does any of that have to do with this thread?

Re: Rear Dropout Torque Sensor

Posted: Apr 01 2020 6:47pm
by 999zip999
That's how some of them work. The factory rep told me directly that sometimes you just have to bang it a little bit if not working. Or the possible fix.
He was from stormer I believe.

Re: Rear Dropout Torque Sensor

Posted: Apr 02 2020 12:35am
by 999zip999
Silence great find.

Re: Rear Dropout Torque Sensor

Posted: Apr 02 2020 9:21am
by DubP
Thanks for the info! The Idbike sensor looks exactly like mine, and the website gives specs, so now I know it's a 5V sensor with a 0-5V analog signal. Two things I'm wondering, would I be able to wire this directly to a CA V3, and what the pinout is for 5V, GND, and signal. The controller doesn't work so I can't just check voltage. The wires coming from the sensor are red, yellow, and blue (right side of connector in pic below). Any thoughts how to snoop it?
IMG_20200401_155035.jpg
IMG_20200401_155035.jpg (358.85 KiB) Viewed 116 times