foundingpower programmable bms

Batteries, Chargers, and Battery Management Systems.
dnmun   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 16190
Joined: Jun 09 2008 1:32pm
Location: portland, or and loveland, co

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by dnmun » Sep 20 2012 1:04pm

if they have a common ground it seems you could even use the gate driver output of the BMS to the logic input. i assume the logic input is a really high impedance. but i am not an expert.

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 107
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Sep 21 2012 12:59pm

It's not a logic input but a power supply. The term "logic" was probably not good...

Anyway, I looked at the main board and there is a transistor controlled by the microcontroller to turn off the screen. So it should be possible, but how to enter in sleep mode is still a mystery for me.

electraflyit   10 W

10 W
Posts: 78
Joined: Jul 08 2008 12:19am
Location: Toowoomba, Queensland

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by electraflyit » Oct 07 2012 11:32pm

Hi,
Have you charged batterys though this yet to check the programable cutouts for HVC?
Did it cutout at LVC to the set voltages?
Sorry for all the questions, but this BMS seems like it would be perfect for a lot a situations if it works!
No traffic on this thread makes me think there are problems.
Eddie


merv   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 15
Joined: Aug 14 2012 7:57am

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by merv » Oct 08 2012 5:07am

and states 300amp peak

User avatar
jpgey   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 499
Joined: Jan 12 2012 7:16am
Location: France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by jpgey » Oct 09 2012 5:22am

Hello, could somenone post a link to download the BMS management software ?
Thanks !

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 107
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Oct 12 2012 1:13pm

Eddie,

No I haven't connected it to real batteries yet but I checked the HVC/LVC limits and is cuts correctly the charge or discharge transistors.
I do a lot of things in parallel and this one is not on top of the priority list !

I got a version limited to 40Amps in software but I was supposed to have a 100Amps one...
There is a parameter to set it in the software but it is not editable, so I will have to use another current sensor but the current reading will be incorrect :(

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 107
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Oct 13 2012 11:52am

Hi,

I contacted the manufacturer, here are some documentation and the software.

Their new version, the UCS, looks even more interesting with these new features:
- External hall current sensor, to allow higher current
- Throttle control to reduce the power below a certain level of SOC
- In case of under voltage the throttle command is cut
- Small 0.9" OLED display for an easy installation

And they say that it is cheaper, probably because of the lack of all the power transistors.

With an Android application to perform data logging it will be the perfect Chinese BMS !!
Attachments
Ly_BMS.zip
(570.72 KiB) Downloaded 183 times
LY.UCS-BMS Series V1.1.pdf
(729.16 KiB) Downloaded 316 times

User avatar
jpgey   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 499
Joined: Jan 12 2012 7:16am
Location: France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by jpgey » Oct 14 2012 6:42am

Thanks Romelec !
I will order one and ask the vendor to provide RS232 protocol

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 107
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Oct 14 2012 9:41am

I forgot it, here is the communication protocol (only for data reading)
Attachments
24SBMSCommunication Protocol.pdf
(75.24 KiB) Downloaded 233 times

cassschr1   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 510
Joined: Aug 14 2009 11:57am
Location: LaCrosse, Wisconsin

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by cassschr1 » Oct 14 2012 9:55am

How much are these? us dollars?

User avatar
jpgey   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 499
Joined: Jan 12 2012 7:16am
Location: France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by jpgey » Oct 14 2012 2:58pm

cassschr1 wrote:How much are these? us dollars?
I receive an invoice for LY.UCS-BMS.24S, around 103USD, add 18USD for LCD and 9USD for hall current sensor.
Shipping is about 30USD for France (Europe)

Price for less than 50 units:
12S: 88USD
16S:103USD
24S: 103USD

Price for 500 units:
12S: 66USD
16S: 79USD
24S: 82USD
Last edited by jpgey on Oct 15 2012 2:39am, edited 1 time in total.

cassschr1   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 510
Joined: Aug 14 2009 11:57am
Location: LaCrosse, Wisconsin

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by cassschr1 » Oct 14 2012 3:14pm

Has anyone got one of these running yet and happy with it? They sound pretty nice.

User avatar
agniusm   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2407
Joined: Apr 16 2011 3:06pm
Location: Lithuania, Zarasai
Contact:

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by agniusm » Oct 15 2012 1:47am

jpgey wrote:
cassschr1 wrote:How much are these? us dollars?
I receive an invoice for LY.UCS-BMS.24S, around 206USD, add 18USD for LCD and 9USD for hall current sensor.
Is this including shipping?

I have tried running mine but had only 18 cells. On 24S BMS all was looking good except last two cells were showing nonsense on software. I think its because of partial pack.

User avatar
jpgey   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 499
Joined: Jan 12 2012 7:16am
Location: France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by jpgey » Oct 15 2012 1:55am

agniusm wrote:
jpgey wrote:
cassschr1 wrote:How much are these? us dollars?
I receive an invoice for LY.UCS-BMS.24S, around 206USD, add 18USD for LCD and 9USD for hall current sensor.
Is this including shipping?
I have tried running mine but had only 18 cells. On 24S BMS all was looking good except last two cells were showing nonsense on software. I think its because of partial pack.
EDIT: the price is 103USD not 206USD, sorry for the mistake

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 107
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Oct 15 2012 5:31am

For information I will get their new version very soon with speed input and mileage estimation, and will review it here.
Attachments
Catch.jpg
Catch.jpg (170.43 KiB) Viewed 2155 times

cassschr1   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 510
Joined: Aug 14 2009 11:57am
Location: LaCrosse, Wisconsin

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by cassschr1 » Oct 15 2012 6:57pm

Whats your defination of very soon? I got ants in my pants.lol

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 107
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Oct 16 2012 2:43am

I gave my adress yesterday so it should be shipped this week :wink:

darren1678   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 20
Joined: Aug 30 2012 8:58pm
Location: scotland

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by darren1678 » Oct 16 2012 2:47am

this sounds like exactly what i'm looking for, how hard is it too setup, i'm o.k. with a solder but crap with electronics,

do you think i could set this up witth little to no help other than what i could get here?

peace

User avatar
agniusm   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2407
Joined: Apr 16 2011 3:06pm
Location: Lithuania, Zarasai
Contact:

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by agniusm » Oct 16 2012 2:49am

romelec wrote:I gave my adress yesterday so it should be shipped this week :wink:
i think that OLED display is dogs balls. Did you get that one?

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 107
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Oct 16 2012 5:46am

I currently have the big LCD written in chinese and will get the OLED.
To install it I will remove the battery voltmeter in the dashboard (not sure that this word is correct for a scooter) and put the OLED.

darren1678: to install it there is only some wires to connect or solder, nothing very complicated.
But the protection circuit is minimalist, so no errors are permitted and I recommend to triple check the wires to the battery before to connect it !

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 107
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Oct 24 2012 9:23am

For information, it will take longer than I imagined to have the BMS because it is not ready for production (probably just the software), and I prefer that they send me a final product than a beta one !

I started the Android application, am able to communicate with it and have almost finished to implement a data parser.
I will then make an ugly GUI (all the values in text boxes), add the datalogging to a CSV file in the SD card and finally make a GUI with multiple charts and gauges (the longer part I think).
I will probably make it open source.

User avatar
Arlo1   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 8375
Joined: Apr 26 2009 10:36pm
Location: Nanaimo
Contact:

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by Arlo1 » Oct 24 2012 10:08am

nechaus wrote:it's another 3 week wait on these bms's


They have alot of pro's

But the con's to me are

- 100 amp /120 amp limit..
-100 ma balancing,, but you do balance 24/7 as the bms is left on 24/7 which is good .( my cells will be perfectly balanced prior to putting it together should be no problems here)

But all the same, ill be happy with these units, i think i might use a relay to get around the 100 amp limit when i need it
How did this work out for you?
Does your project need a high performance motor drive, battery charger or other power electronics developed? Let's talk!
www.powerdesigns.ca
Leaf motor controller build. http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewto ... 27#p963227
YSR build http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BRo8r5g4NBg
Never above 4.2v never below 2.7v EVER!!!
Support me on Patreon. https://www.patreon.com/user/posts?u=6842045
http://www.undergroundelectrics.ca/

User avatar
jpgey   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 499
Joined: Jan 12 2012 7:16am
Location: France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by jpgey » Oct 24 2012 4:53pm

I have the Oled, it is very clean and very small !
I don't know how to show the individual cell voltage, will ask the vendor !
IMG_0804.jpg
IMG_0804.jpg (156.16 KiB) Viewed 2389 times
Working fine for me (never tested in real life yet, just connected to battery). No output FET (2 stage throttle shutdown or 2 state PWM output for alarm). State of charge with hall amp sensor (both direction, charge-regen / discharge). From now good customer relation with Foundingpower.

User avatar
agniusm   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2407
Joined: Apr 16 2011 3:06pm
Location: Lithuania, Zarasai
Contact:

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by agniusm » Oct 25 2012 6:29am

That looks neat. For me, not having individual cell SOC is not that important in most cases. The good think you mentioned is no output FET's which i'm guessing is unlimited power draw from your pack, which is absolutely fabulous. The small OLED and round cable weaves option for nice and stealth installation.

Post Reply