Dyson battery BMS?

Talk about anything and everything here within reason.
Post Reply
User avatar
Drunkskunk   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 7245
Joined: Apr 14 2007 11:37am
Location: Dallas, Texas. U.S.A.

Dyson battery BMS?

Post by Drunkskunk » Dec 15 2015 1:18pm

Anyone know where to get a 6 cell micro sized BMS for a Dyson battery?
I know this is slightly off topic, but of all the places to ask this question, you folks are the most likely to know.

I had a Dyson handheld vacuum. A few inches away, I also had a sink full of dish water. I left those two alone in the dark for a few hours and came back to find them performing some act not covered in the Karma Sutra of Appliances. Only the tip of the vac was sticking up from the bubbles, boldly flaunting it's deviances and disregard for it's manufacturer's recommendations not to use in water. Now, of course, the battery refuses to work.

I called Dyson, and told their tech support about the little Vacuum's liaison with a sink full of suds. I was hoping they would tell me where I could buy a battery, but instead they are sending me a new battery for free. 5 stars for Dyson customer support! But that does leave me with a dead battery case, a market full of 18650 cells with almost double the capacity of the standard Dyson 22mA packs, and only a missing BMS to make this work.
Buy the ticket, take the ride.
Monster Bike:http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewto ... =6&t=38667

Hillhater   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 10953
Joined: Aug 03 2010 10:33pm
Location: Sydney ..(Hilly part !) .. Australia/ Down under !

Re: Dyson battery BMS?

Post by Hillhater » Dec 30 2015 1:05am

I would expect (maybe ?) those original 2.2Ahr Dyson cells were high output type.
Any brand or serial codes on them ?
This forum owes its existence to Justin of ebikes.ca

Mammalian04   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1103
Joined: Apr 26 2014 3:26am
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Dyson battery BMS?

Post by Mammalian04 » Sep 11 2016 8:00am

Any luck? I'm thinking about replacing the cells in my Dyson handheld and any photos of the guys would be useful before I go hacking it up!

User avatar
Matador   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 918
Joined: Jun 29 2016 10:00pm

Re: Dyson battery BMS?

Post by Matador » Dec 01 2017 1:03am

They are sony VTC4 (30A rated 2100 mAh) (green wrapper).
In other packs they use LG HD2C (20A rated 2100 mAh) (salmon pink wrapper).

User avatar
Matador   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 918
Joined: Jun 29 2016 10:00pm

Re: Dyson battery BMS?

Post by Matador » Mar 03 2019 7:24pm

Still looking for a BMS alternative for these dyson packs.... Cells are easy to figure out... the special BMS with the relay type switch not so much

markz   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 10088
Joined: Jan 09 2014 11:38pm
Location: Alberta Canada

Re: Dyson battery BMS?

Post by markz » Mar 03 2019 9:18pm

The motor is a generic off the shelf motor, I know that.

There is a guy on youtube in British Columbia that opens that stuff up and analyzes the plastique's and build quality. He now has a CNC machine he is working on so he puts that up on his yt, as well as sports and some cooking on the grill. Seems to be a world traveler for his troubleshooting work.

User avatar
flippy   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1686
Joined: Aug 12 2015 3:07pm

Re: Dyson battery BMS?

Post by flippy » Mar 13 2019 12:21pm

Can you make pics of the board? Dyson doesnt invent stuff (anymore), they grab stuff off the shelf and sprinlkle on their smell (and copy protection).
I doubt it is something special.
Lithium beats liquid dinosaurs.

Post Reply